Scouts going on a hike.


Frequently Asked Questions

Who is our Chartered Organization?

Our Chartered Organization is Back Creek Presbyterian Church located at 1821 Back Creek Church Road, Charlotte NC 28213. Pack 49 has been at Back Creek Church since its inception in 1987. Our brother organization Troop 49 has been chartered there since 1968.

Training for Leaders

Our pack's opportunities for Leader Training & Personal Development:

  • Yearly required training for each leadership position

  • Monthly Pack Committee Leaders Meeting & Planning

  • Online BSA Training @

  • Bi-Monthly BSA Cub-Cast Podcast & MP3

  • World-Class Leadership Training Days offered each season by the Mecklenburg BSA Council

... all supporting the scouts of Pack 49.

See more details at

Youth Protection
Adult Leaders Training

Boy Scouts of America - myScouting Tools (Training)

Mecklenburg County Council Training Site

You, Me, Everyone = Pack 49

Parent : Leader : Akela

Pack 49 is dependent on leaders to manage the pack, coordinate the Den Meetings activities. Without Parent Leaders, in and out of the Scout Uniform, the great Pack 49 experience won't happen.

Every leader in Pack 49 is a non-paid volunteer....
Leaders believe in what Scouting can do for your child & Family.

"For over a century, the BSA has helped build the future leaders of this country by combining educational activities and lifelong values with fun. The Boy Scouts of America believes — and, through over a century of experience, knows — that helping youth is a key to building a more conscientious, responsible, and productive society" -

Have More Fun with Your Child - Take the Challenge - Become a Leader

  • Decide to take a step to having more fun with your child and their new friends.

  • Commit world-class leadership training unlike any other in the world.

  • Enrich your own life and the life of your child using local council-level events and national-level BSA scouting training resources.

Talk with the Cubmaster to see how you can help your child, their friends and "Help the Pack Grow"

You Are Their Akela / Leader @Home

There are tons of great resources here for leadership and Fun for You & your child at home.

Cub Scout Parents page (on

Who are our leaders?

The Pack 49 Committee has recently been reorganized to provide a better focus on Pack activities and administration and to be better able to support the Scouting Program.

The Committee is always looking for parents or other interested parties to help with pack functions and activities. If you are interested in participating more directly in the scouting program please contact any volunteer/leader in person.

  • Cub Master / Jen Freeling

  • Assistant Cubmaster / Jake McIlvain

  • AOL Leader / Jake McIlvain

  • Webelo I Leader / Jen (instrim) & Tony Hall

  • Bear Leader / Nisha Gopani

  • Wolf Leader / Christal Webber

  • Tiger Leader / Matt King

  • Lion Den Leader Guide / Jeff Hunt

  • Committee Chair / Bob Kaestner

  • Treasurer / Josh Freeling

  • Advancement Chair / NEEDED

  • Online Communications Chair / Josh Freeling

  • Events Chair / NEEDED

  • Webmaster / Josh Freeling

  • Outdoor Chair / Matt King (intrim) & Tony Hall

  • Popcorn "Kernel" & Fundraising Chair / Stephanie Barker

BSA Health/Medical Form (Part A & B) - REQUIRED for Camping

For any overnight camping trip your scout takes, you will need to completely fill out the BSA Health/Medical Form Parts A & B and turn it in along with a front AND back copy of your child's health insurance card. The health form is good ONE year from the date it is filled out and signed. We recommend you make a copy of it for yourself before you turn it in to us.

History of Pack 49

Pack 49 has existed at Back Creek Church since it was first chartered in 1987. In it's history, it has had 16 different individuals as Cub Master, including it's current Cub Master, Jen Freeling. Below is a list of all previous Cub Masters of Pack 49.

1987 Richard White

1988 Richard White

1989 Bradford Roche

1990 Bradford Roche

1991 Richard Berman

1992 Richard Berman

1993 Richard Berman

1994 Richard Berman

1995 John Hartis

1996 Jerome Duncan

1997 Tanya Tincher

1998 Tanya Tincher

1999 Tanya Tincher

2000 Rebecca Workman

2001 Rebecca Workman

2002 Thomas Hickson

2003 Thomas Hickson

2004 Thomas Hickson

2005 Mark Chapman

2006 Mark Chapman

2007 Richard Messina

2008 Darren Seigler

2009 Richard Messina

2010 Jeffrey Selk

2011 Jeffrey Selk

2012 Dennis Tucker

2013 Dennis Tucker

2014 Tremayne Brooker

2015 Tremayne Brooker

2016 Tremayne Brooker

2017 Tremayne Brooker / Jacob McIlvain

2018 Jacob McIlvain / Jen Freeling

2019 Jen Freeling